We want our users to have their best experience online, which means being able to create and have fun while feeling safe and comfortable. This post is part of our Community Well-Being series that aims to educate users on how to customize their TikTok experience using the various safety, privacy, and well-being tools available to them.
Building a following on TikTok allows you to cultivate a group of viewers, fans, and friends that appreciate the creative videos and content you make on the app. While it can be fun and exciting to gain followers, you are in control of who is allowed to follow or interact with you on TikTok. From following, viewing, and engaging with your videos, there are several tools and settings to take utilize so you feel comfortable when curating your following.
Private vs public accounts
Whether you want to share your videos with the world or just your closest friends, the choice is up to you.
By default, your account starts as public, which means any TikTok user can view your videos and post comments, reactions, or duets to engage with the content you've created and shared – but you can easily change this in your Privacy Settings.
You can choose to make your account private at any time. With a private account you can approve or deny follower requests, and only users you’ve approved as followers can see your content.
Whether you have a public or private account, anyone can choose to make a specific video private. Private videos are visible only to you, and you can select this setting when you originally upload the video or by later making an uploaded video private.
Remove a follower
If you no longer want a user to follow your account for any reason, you can remove them from your followers from your "Followers" page or their profile. When a user is removed from your followers, your videos will not appear in their "Following" feed.
To remove a follower from your "Followers" page simply tap the three dots next to their username and tap "Remove this follower."
To remove a follower from their profile page, tap the three dots in the top right hand corner and tap "Remove this follower."
If you have a public account, they will still have the opportunity to re-follow your account. If you have a private account they will need to send another follow request before they are allowed to follow you again.
Blocking a User
We encourage users to follow the community guidelines and treat their fellow TikTok users with respect. If someone violates these rules by bulling or harassing you, you can block that user in addition to removing them from your followers. When you block a user they will not be able to contact you, view, or interact with any of your content.
To block a user: