TikTok is a global hub of creativity. Through individual perspectives and experiences, our users create immersive worlds of content in which we discover new inspiration day by day.
We value each user’s individual experience of the platform and the global community and we aim to empower everyone on TikTok to take control of their own TikTok experience. In order to make it a fun and safe environment TikTok has implemented several safety features.
We acknowledge that ‘one fits all’ solutions don’t work for everybody so we are proud to have launched a ‘Filter Comments’ security feature which allows users to customise their controls.
You decide what happens on your videos
Just as every individual user experiences TikTok differently, we are aware that there are words that some users view as absolutely harmless while others perceive them as truly hurtful.
We want our users to be able to take control of the conversations happening on their content — if someone feels hurt by certain words, we believe this person should have the opportunity to hide these words in conversations.
With the ‘Filter Comments’ feature, we are allowing our users to do just that — remove comments that contain keywords these users perceive as hurtful. Below, we will walk you through the process of setting it up:
- From your ‘For You’ feed, navigate to your profile by selecting the respective button in the lower right-hand corner of your screen
- Access your profile settings by selecting the three dots on the top right-hand side of your screen
- Enter your ‘Privacy and Safety’ settings by selecting the respective button.
- Here, select the new feature ‘Filter Comments’
- Activate the option ‘Filter by Keywords’
- Now you can enter each keyword which you want to filter out as comments on your videos. These comments will be hidden accordingly
- Exit the menu by selecting the arrow on the top left-hand corner of your screen
- The feature is now active.
Activating this feature will change the conversations below your videos in the following way:
All comments including one of your selected keywords will disappear in the conversations on your videos. This also works retroactively, meaning that previously published comments containing these comments will disappear as well. These comments will not only be hidden for you, but also for other users who visit your profile and view your videos.
Always remember: it is your profile, you decide what you share with whom. For more information please visit our Safety Center.