Customizing your content controls

We want our users to have their best experience online, which means being able to create and have fun while feeling safe and comfortable. This post is part of our Community Well-Being series that aims to educate users on how to customize their TikTok experience using the various safety, privacy, and well-being tools available to them.

It’s important to us that TikTok offers a positive environment where our community can feel safe and comfortable creating and interacting with others, and our Community Guidelines outline the trust and respect we expect users to adhere to in content and behavior.

At the same time, we know that everyone has different preferences on how much community interaction they want to allow on their content –  which is why we offer a number of content controls that let you customize how other users can interact with your content. In this post we’ll go through a few of these options.

Making a video private

With a private account, only users you’ve approved as followers can see your videos – but you can always choose to make a specific video private, too. Private videos are visible only to you, no matter whether you have a public or a private account. You can make this choice when you originally upload the video or by later making an uploaded video private.To upload a private video:

  • On the video posting page for your draft video, tap “Who can view my video”
  • Choose “Private”

Remember that you can always choose to make a previously-uploaded video private by tapping the lock symbol on the video then choosing "Private."

Setting comment controls on your videos

Who do you want to be allowed to comment on your videos? You decide! To access and configure your privacy controls, head on over to the Privacy and Safety option under the app settings. Here, you can view and adjust your privacy controls at any time.To control who can comment on your videos:

  • From your profile, open the Privacy and Safety settings
  • Tap “Who Can Comment on My Videos”
  • Choose either “Everyone” (anyone who can view your videos), “Friends” (mutual followers only), or “Off” (no one)

Of course, you can disable comments for a specific video instead of all your videos. Just open the video you want to restrict comments on, tap the menu button, and select "Comments Off."

Restricting duets on your videos

Duets can be a fun way to create videos with another user, but you’re in control: we give you the option to decide who can make duets with or react to your content. It's easy to set this just once at the account level and have your chosen setting apply to all your videos – but you can choose to selectively enable or disable duets for just a particular video, too.To enable restrictions on who can create duet videos with you:

  • From your profile, open the Privacy and Safety settings
  • Tap “Who Can Duet With Me”
  • Choose the setting you prefer (Everyone, Friends, or Off)

You also have the option of disabling duets for just a specific video. To do so, open the video you want to restrict duets on, tap the menu button, and select "Disable."

Remember:

  • You get to decide whether you want a public or a private account. See “Setting up your account” for tips!
  • For a refresher on our Community Guidelines, check out this post
  • TikTok is a global community that thrives on creativity and expression. We expect you to be thoughtful about the way you interact with the content others have worked hard to create.