Limiting unwanted content

 ·  Safety

We want our users to have their best experience online, which means being able to create and have fun while feeling safe and comfortable. This post is part of our Community Well-Being series that aims to educate users on how to customize their TikTok experience using the various safety, privacy, and well-being tools available to them.

Trending, entertaining, and creative content is what drew many of you to download TikTok. Now that you've created an account and reviewed our community guidelines, it's time to dive into the diverse videos that your fellow community is creating.

TikTok is a global community of people looking for an entertaining time. Since our creators come from all walks of life, you’ll find everything from comedy to makeup tutorials to memes on the app. What may be funny or interesting to someone else, might not be funny or interesting to you — and that’s okay!

The For You feed is a great way to explore new and surprising videos, but with the wide diversity of content on the app, sometimes you might feel bogged down with videos that aren't quite to your taste. In this post, we'll help you learn how to configure some features and preferences that let you keep videos you don't enjoy off of your For You feed. This will help you shape what your content consumption experience looks like on TikTok.

Establishing content preferences

Let’s say you’re scrolling through the For You section and come across a video of someone doing pushups to heavy metal. For some reason, that just doesn’t vibe with what you want to watch. Simply long-press on that video and tap the Not Interested icon. You’ll be shown less of that sort of video in the future. Alternatively, if you really love a video, you can long-press to save it to your Favorites and then dive into related content within that hashtag, for example.

Reporting a video

The Not Interested button is for curating videos to your taste, but if you find something offensive or in violation of our Community Guidelines, you can report it. The content and user will be reviewed by our moderation team and appropriate action will be taken. This will help us keep TikTok a supportive and entertaining community for you and everyone else.

Restricted Mode

If you’d like to limit content more quickly with a broader brush stroke, you can enable Restricted Mode. Restricted Mode is an option at the account settings level that limits the appearance of content that may not be appropriate for all audiences.

To enable this setting:

  • Select “Digital Wellbeing” under the app settings
  • Tap “Turn On”
  • Set a passcode
  • Toggle “Restricted Mode”

Restricted Mode can always be turned off by the person who enabled it to begin with. So if you find yourself missing videos you’d like to see, you can switch back whenever you’d like.

Note: If you’re a parent and your teen uses TikTok, it might make sense to enable this setting to ensure the content they are viewing is age-appropriate. For more suggestions, check out our Parents Portal.

Remember:

  • Long-press videos you don't like and tap the "Not interested" icon to see less of it in the future.
  • If a video violates our Community Guidelines, report it.
  • Use Restricted Mode to quickly change your feed.

With these tools, you can shape your feed in a way that suits your unique taste. No matter what you’re into, there’s always something you’ll enjoy on TikTok.